“Practice made perfect” The Wire

“One of the most interesting voices in analog electronics” Bandcamp Daily

“Rising modular star” Electronic Sound

NEW RELEASES available now on Bandcamp – YOUL, Florescence and YSMYSMYSM

NEXT LIVE MODULAR SHOWS – The Herbert, Coventry 25 March | Pan Pan, Birmingham 31 March | IKLECTK, London 6 April

MORE 2023 UK DATES – Full dates listing for 2023

Loula Yorke is a composer, sound artist and improviser with a specialism in modular synthesis. She regularly releases new music on Truxalis.

Yorke’s trademark improvised hardware-only live sets see her building abstract sonic collages into powerful beat workouts backed by kaleidoscopes of interlocking and repeating algorithmically-derived melodies. She’s had radio play on BBC Radio 3, Radio 1 and 1XTRA, and coverage in Electronic Sound, The Wire, DJ Mag, and Bandcamp Daily. In 2020 her community-focused electronics practice was recognised with a Special Commendation from the Oram Awards. Her 2021 SPILL Commission Atari Punk Girls – an audacious and energetic live show co-composed with a group of female and minority gender teenagers who built their own instruments – was recommended by audiences as an “unexpected highlight of the festival”. In 2022, Yorke participated in the Sound Generator program, developing new pieces for laser and sound supported by Sound UK.

She currently also improvises as OULAN together with poet-vocalist Una Lee. In December 2023, they will be touring in Ireland.

contact: loulayorke [at] gmail [dot] com

Homepage photo credits: Dave Stitch, Jeff Scott